Home / About The Award / Governance



The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award in Malta set up an a Malta Foundation in May 2014. The purpose and objectives of the Foundation are as follows :

  • To operate the Award Programme in Malta and approve such Awards in accordance with the Award Principles of the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award for Young People;
  • To comply with, attain and maintain the Fundamental Standards and the minimum required standards for a National Award Authority;
  • To enter into a Full Licence Agreement with the Duke of Edinburgh’s Intenational Award Foundation within five years of the grand of the Conditional Licence given in 2013;
  • To support and aid the development of teh Award Programme in Malta and to participate in the regional/world promotion of the Award to youths around the globe;

Supervisory Council

The Foundation has a Supervisory Council which shall havge the power and the duty to exedrcise supervision over the acts of the National Council whilst also supporting the National Committee in carrying out their duties.

The first members to serve as Trustees on the Supervisory Council are:

Mr Kenneth De Martino (Chairman)

Mrs Janatha Stubbs

Mr George Farrugia

Major Ray Miller

National Council

The Foundation also has a National Council composed of its founder as the Chairperson and not more than eight members, appointed for a period of three years. Members may be reappointed for successive periods. The appointees shall, as far as is practicable, be chosen from as wide a representation as is possible among professional, academic, commercial and institutional stakeholders.

The members of the National Council are

Kenneth De Martino (Chairman)

Charles J Cilia

Stephanie Falzon

Lara Tonna

Madeleine De  Martino

Godfrey Sammut

Johanna De Giovanni (Council Secretary)


Ex Officio member

Debbie Vella (National Director)

Michael Wright (Director for Development)

National Committee

The National Director has also appointed the following members to the National Committee to support in the day to day work necessary in order to deliver the Award:

Debbie Vella (Chairperson)

Michael Wright

Tania Bezzina

Lara Tonna

Tonio Axisa

David Azzopardi

Marie Claire Vella

Currently being reformed – meeting in July.